The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Title: The Grownup

Author: Gillian Flynn

Publisher: Orion Books

Originally Published: George R R Martin’s Rogues

Release Date: October 27, 2015

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Buy it here: Amazon Orion Books

Penguin Random House

Barnes and Noble

 

THE GROWNUP WON THE EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST SHORT STORY IN 2015

 

‘I watched the house. It watched me back through long, baleful windows so tall a child could stand in the sill. And one was. I could see the length of his thin body: gray trousers, black sweater, a maroon tie perfectly knotted at the neck. A thicket of dark hair covering his eyes….’


This is one of those books for which I will not have to do a  ‘Things I Loved/Didn’t Like’ section. Gillian Flynn doesn’t really leave much space for not liking the story. No free will to the reader. You just have to LOVE this. This spooky, thrilling little book. It skips rapidly from an adult story to a horror one and then to a complete thriller. So much suspense fills this book that I barely had time to catch my breath. (Okay, I was exaggerating! But…) Extraordinarily structured, she plays with the reader’s mind with such ease. Like a voodoo doll! I don’t know how else to say this. God, it left me floored.

 

”I didn’t stop giving handjobs because I wasn’t good at it. I stopped giving handjobs because I was the best at it.”

This is the first line of the book. Now THAT ↑ is some badass way to begin a horror story, isn’t it? I could not have guessed all that was going to happen in the pages ahead. There was no sign. Nothing. First few pages: describing a former sex worker’s lifestyle and then BOOM, it’s all spooky. (My fingers are itching to include some spoilers…only one or two major ones? Please? No?….FINE!)

When the apparently possessed, evil little boy’s mother is introduced in the story, the narrator’s, our protagonist, reaction was such that I felt it was not big deal. She was totally cool about it. And I….well I was having a blast! And then the way the plot quickens, filling in all the missing pieces, introducing a solution to the on-going puzzle which, thanks to the author’s finesse, boggled both the narrator’s and my mind. My heart started beating at an unusually fast rate while I tried to cope with the betrayal! I would never have thought it possible, the reason behind the weird happenings in the story. ( I really want to go into the details but that would genuinely take away all the fun.)

I just finished reading it a half an hour ago and I am so excited that I fear I will include more details that I would like. So, I guess I should stop now and leave the rest of the thrill for you to find out and tremble with excitement by the last page.

I know this one’s a bit short but , believe me, I would have talked on and on but considering the length of the book which is a mere 67 pages, that would mean disclosing information about the plot which will, in turn, lead to a lack freshness or excitement while actually reading it. And that will be just very sad for you. So, go buy yourself a copy and devour it.

 

Leave a Reply

